• Categories
  • The Latest Style
  • Archives

Paramount Theatre Awarded 10 Jeff Award Nominations for its 2017-18 Broadway Series

Chicago’s Joseph Jefferson Committee announced today the 2017-18 Equity Jeff Award nominees, and Paramount Theatre is thrilled to share that its Broadway Series productions earned 10 nominations for outstanding performance, direction and design in Chicago theater last season.

Paramount was the only Chicago theater to land two nominations in the highly competitive category of Production – Musical – Large for its blockbuster stagings last season of Million Dollar Quartet and Cabaret.

Moreover, all four of Paramount’s 2017-18 productions, including Once and Elf The Musical, received nominations, yet another nod to Paramount’s reputation for consistently producing some of the best theater in the entire Chicago area.
Here is the full list of Paramount’s 2017-18 Equity Jeff Award nominations:

Million Dollar Quartet – 4 nominations
Production – Musical – Large
Ensemble – Musical or Revue
Performer in a Supporting Role – Musical: Gavin Rohrer (Jerry Lee Lewis)
Lighting Design – Large: Jesse Klug

Cabaret – 3 nominations
Production – Musical – Large
Performer in a Supporting Role: Hollis Resnick (Fraulein Schneider)
Lighting Design – Large: Yael Lubetzky 

Once – 2 nominations
Performer in a Principal Role – Musical: Tiffany Topol (Girl)
Music Direction: Tom Vendafreddo

Elf The Musical – 1 nomination
Projection Design: Joseph A. Burke

“Our audiences, the critics and the Jeff Committee clearly agree – Paramount is producing many of the very best musicals in the entire Chicagoland area,” said Paramount President and CEO Tim Rater. “This is our fourth consecutive year for multiple nominations across the board. We consider this important recognition for the consistently excellent work being produced on our beautiful stage, and for our top-notch production values that rival theaters anywhere in Chicago, on Broadway and around the nation.”

Paramount Artistic Director Jim Corti, who remains the only Chicago theater artist to have won Jeff Awards as a director, choreographer and actor, added, “I’m grateful to the Jeff Committee, and thrilled for our creative and technical teams for this much-deserved recognition of their work on stage and behind the scenes.”

Paramount’s work has been eligible for review by the Jeff Committee for just the past four seasons. At last year’s Jeff Awards, Paramount emerged as the evening’s top winner with eight Jeffs – more than any other Chicago theater – for its 2016-17 productions of Sweeney Todd-The Demon Barber of Fleet Street and Disney’s The Little Mermaid.

Mark your calendars: the 2017-18 Jeff Award winners will be announced October 22, 2018. To see the full list of nominees, visit jeffawards.org.

  • Show Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

comment *

  • name *

  • email *

  • website *